h1

Pray for my car: Results

November 5, 2008

::::Warning::::  THIS IS A PITTY PARTY FOR MYSELF

 

Good news:  My car passed smog
Bad news:  It failed the first time and cost a lot of money to fix

 

Bad news:  They found that I needed a bunch of work done on my brakes.  New pads, rotors, master cylinder, shoes, all machine parts, etc.
Good news:  I suppose now my car is more likely to stop when I press the brake.

 

Good news:  I have my Blazer back in my possession. 
Bad news:  I now have 2 maxed-out credit cards.

 

Bad news:  They also said I need new tires and shocks before the rainy season hits
Good news:  couldn’t think of one.  Sorry. 

 

It’s true.  When it rains, it pours.  It’s been “raining” for a few months now.  Rain being more than just car trouble and finances.  Some days I feel tired and beat up, but today I feel defeated.  Maybe I need this.  I don’t know why, but maybe I do.  I continue to have faith that God will always provide and is in control, but lately I’ve been battling that with Him.  Somedays I think I know better, but it’s obvious I don’t.  I’m moving on.  Moving on from the pity and self reliance.  In the spirit of the cliché’s I’ve been using, perhaps this is a new chapter.

I’m going to try to do better with writing more positive posts.  Starting with tonight.  I’ll have a “happy post” sometime tonight after I get home from youth group.

3 comments

  1. That sucks Timmy. But be warned, most auto shops are sneaky. Every one that I’ve ever been to tries to get me to replace or buy things that I don’t REALLY need.

    For example, I had a guy tell me I needed to replace my brakes completely because they were failing. I then took my truck to another guy who told me that my brakes were perfectly fine, and he was right. I haven’t had any problems with them. So be careful about completely trusting those guys, unless you know them really well personally.


  2. Yeah, I feel ya. I got the work done at two separate places. I did the brakes at a place I’ve always gone too. Both places came up with the same diagnosis. So it’s either legit, it they’re all in it together. And since I’m a conspirisist, I’m guessing it’s the latter.


  3. Brake jobs are easier than you think. You have to get a little dirty. But anyone who can read can do a brake job …



Leave a Reply

