h1

Pray for my car

November 3, 2008

This light has haunted me for a few months.  I’ve owned my 97′ Blazer for over 4 years.  I’ve had to get it smogged once before and it failed multiple times but passed on the last possible day.  The ‘service engine soon’ light has a history of going on and off without any repair being done.  I have until Friday to pass smog and renew my registration on this beast.  

Truth is, I could really use a new(er) car… one that gets better than 12-13MPG but I can’t afford one on my church salary.  Plus I do love not having a monthly car payment right now.  But I also know the day is coming when multiple big things start breaking inside my Blazer… or it spontaneously blows up while I’m driving it.  Sure feels like it is sometimes!

So I took it in to “Auto Works” today to get the light diagnosed, smogged, oil-change, brakes & tires checked, hoses, etc.  I have a funny feeling I’ll need all new brakes.  I can’t afford a big bill right now so I’m praying whatever the damage is will be affordable.  Oh, and I’m driving my Blazer down to Orange County on Thursday… which isn’t used to making “long trips”.  Better safe than sorry, right?

2 comments

  1. I’ve been in the same situation so many times and it sucks. But if it’s any consolation, I drove around for over a year with my Check Engine light on and my car never broke down. I hope everything turns out ok!


  2. Thanks! Yes, I’m very familiar with the light too. Just with it being on, it will automatically fail smog. Thats the main issue. As for my car breaking down, that will just eventually happen. When I drive, it sounds like it’s under water. That can’t be good… but thanks for your support!



Leave a Reply

