h1

Confession time

July 14, 2008

So remember this post about the new book I was starting?  Well I was too embarrassed then to talk about it.  And not much changed until I read this post by Jacinda last week.  That’s right, I started reading a book called “Redeeming Love” by Fancine Rivers.

I feel the need to explain this.  About four years ago my girlfriend (now ex) said I should read “The Notebook” before we went and saw the movie.  I read it, actually loved it, then decided to read the book’s sequel.  I mentioned this to Jameson’s fiance a few weeks ago and she said I needed to read this book if I liked those other’s.  Truth is, I’m more of the romantic type, so it’s right up my ally… I suppose.  Little did I know this is a Christian romance novel.  I immediately judged the book before starting it.  I was put off by what I read on the back cover.  I decided to give it a fair shot, and a couple chapters in, it’s not so bad.  I’m still embarrassed by it but I figured you all might get a laugh out of it.  And Jacinda made me feel a little better about the whole thing since she felt the same way.  But then again, she’s a woman reading a romance novel, and I’m a man… or at least I used to be before starting this book!

2 comments

  1. I’m not a huge fan of Christian romance novels myself, but “Redeeming Love” is pretty dang good. And if it’s any consolation, I respect a guy who can watch a chick flick or read a romance novel without feeling like it has emasculated him. So kudos for being man enough to write this post.


  2. You’re the best Emily! Thanks for those encouraging words. I feel so manly now I’m gunna… go chop some wood… or kill some helpless animal or work on my hotrod. Do real men do that? I’m not sure.



Leave a Reply

