h1

New Job

July 1, 2008

Today I started my new job as the Youth Director (Pastor-ish?) for River Valley Church.  It’s rad working for the church that I’ve loved for the past year attending, and even cooler that I was able to serve in this ministry as a volunteer for a year before receiving this position.  It’s great working with people you like in a fun environment doing something you love.  Having my “own” ministry is scary.  I feel inadequate in so many ways.  I’m only several years older than some of the kids I minister to.  I just know that any good that happens to this group of kids is going to be God’s doing and not my own.  I trust that God has a plan for me, and this youth group.  I’m going to do my absolute best listening to His voice.  I’ll just keep doing what I’ve been doing.  Being real with the students, showing them love, letting them know someone cares, and building authentic relationships with them.  I can only pray that they are able to know the love that our Heavenly Father has for them and the relationship that He so desperately wants with them.  

My first item on the agenda for the group is finding a female volunteer/leader (we need male leaders too but we now have 0 female leaders).  With Luke moving on to another rad position at the church we lose Sarah (his wife) our female leader.  For any of you that are reading this, I and the RVC students would really appreciate any prayer you can offer up in this area.

Here’s my shout out/thanks to Luke Mundy.  Luke ran the jr. high and high school group this past year.  He did a hell of a job.  (Did I just say that?)  I had the pleasure of serving under him and watching him grow in a way that I’m not even sure he knew he could.  He’s better for it.  Now he’s moving on to help with our adult worship and rock some other areas in our church that need… to be rocked.

6 comments


  1. so…what does hell have to do with serving in the Church?


  2. apparently I led students away or something hellish like that


  3. Retraction: Should read, “Luke did one HEAVEN of a job.”


  4. excited to hear how the ministry develops


  5. I guess I should write a post about all this now. Maybe I’ll wait until I actually know what my job consists of!


  6. […] with our youth group as it moves into this next year.  Taking my place as youth director is Tim Balint, a close friend, and one of our most faithful volunteers this last year.  I don’t think I […]



Leave a Reply

