h1

Cutting out the noise

June 23, 2008

I’m back from a great weekend spent in San Simeon.  Unfortunately it was still insanely hot (100+ degrees on Friday and Saturday), record breaking in fact.  Despite the heat the guys and I still enjoyed ourselves by golfing, playing tennis, smoking cigars, going out to eat, going to the beach and much more.  

Luckily Sunday brought some cooler weather.  Before anyone else woke up I decided to sneak off to the beach with my phone, earbuds, and Bible.  I found myself a rock to sit on and began to listen to some music while cracking open my Bible.  Then it hit me.  I’m at the beach.  I took out my earbuds and took in everything around me.  The ocean’s roar, seagulls talking, and the crackling of the salt water as it moved it’s way through the seaweed on shore.  I saw how huge the ocean is, I tried counting the millions of rocks around me, and couldn’t even comprehend how many grains of sand there were on the beach.  It was one of those times that I got to see how small I am and how HUGE God is (no, I don’t think God is fat.  Though I think He’s 6’7″ or something).  I had a feeling of purpose.  A feeling of encouragement.  I felt hope.  

“Nothing will be impossible with God.”  – Luke 1:37. That was what was playing through my head.  I stopped thinking about the things “going wrong” in my life, and started giving praise for everything great.  This is what I needed.  I don’t know why but being at the coast just helps me focus more on my Father.  I think I need to make these trips more frequent, and more importantly learn how to keep this same attitude ALL THE TIME here in Fresno.

One comment

  1. I’m glad you were able to get away and recharge! God is SO good!



Leave a Reply

