h1

Emails

February 10, 2008

Since getting my iPhone I have begun exploring more of the applications that came with my macbook a year ago. Programs like address book, iCal, and now the Mail application. I’ve always used either yahoo or gmail when viewing my email but since “Mail” syncs so well with the iPhone, I think I’m going to start using it more… even though its just another “Outlook” to me. Anyway, thats not the point of this post. After putting in my login information for my different email addresses (I sorta use two) it began to receive ALL my old emails dating back to like… 2004ish. Today/tonight I took the time to read through a lot of them. It was certainly a trip down memory lane to say the least. I cringed reading through some of them just thinking of how stupid and naive I was years ago, just as I was filled with joy reading some others.

I read through a couple different conversations that I’m really glad I found. I thought they were lost forever. However, for probably the first time in my life it really caused me to ponder regret. I hurt this person years ago from a decision that I made. I always felt bad for hurting them, but I never really regretted my decision. I’ve always been a believer that everything happens for a reason, and even though I still believe that, I now think regret can be a part of that. I’ve since apologized and by God’s good grace they accepted it. We’re even friends to this day. Looking back I can see what was real and what was disguised as real. I’m glad that at least for me, my friendship and words were real.

Anyway, sorry for the real vague post. I think this morning’s awesome sermon caused me to be in this reflective mood. I challenge you to look through some old emails, letters, or even journals to see how much has changed. It was a real enjoyable time for myself.

While writing this post I listened to two songs on repeat. If you’ve never listened to them, I urge you to do so now! The songs are: “Hallelujah” – performed by Jeff Buckley and “Holy, Holy, Holy” – Sufjan Stevens. They are beautiful pieces of music.

I’ll leave you with this picture of myself fresh out of the shower after a vigorous game of tennis this afternoon. I figured it fits with the randomness of this post!

photo-7.jpg

Leave a Reply

