h1

Random thoughts

October 9, 2007

I really don’t have much to post about but for one reason or another I felt like I should blog about something. I guess I’ll talk a bit about “my life”. Things are going really well for me right now. Honestly, I did not picture my life like this at 22 when I envisioned it a few years ago. I really could not be further from my desires of yesteryear but at the same time things are wonderful. Its interesting how much you change in just a few short years or even months. Recently (July-ish) I became a Jr. High and High School leader. I’ve always wanted to work with High School kids but I never really had any desire to work with Jr. Highers. I always felt like I would not be able to relate to them. Oh how I was wrong. Our Jr. High-High School student ratio is probably at 10:1. I love these kids. Its really exciting to see some excited to grow in their faith. At the same time its a challenge for myself and the other leaders to get most of the kids to care at all. I have to admit that I was worried that the students would not like me… I know, selfish selfish Tim! But thats the truth. Man I was wrong. They like me just fine and think I’m pretty cool too! Lord knows that is far from the truth πŸ˜‰ But honestly, even if they didn’t think I was cool, I just want to see them grow and mature into men and women of God. My short experience helping out has probably challenged me more than I have in the whole past year. I’ve been reading my Bible a lot more, praying daily. It’s really cool. This is the first time I’ve been excited about something church related in a long time. And guess what… its not even worship related! (though I still love being a part of worship).

Last month we had a scavenger hunt to kick off the new school year. Here a picture of the winning team! Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I told the kids to make angry/intimidating faces… Unfortunately I was the only one who listened to my request. Maybe I don’t have as much of an influence on them as I thought! πŸ˜‰

3 comments

  1. so i just realized you have a link to us on your blog. awwwwww!! Tim–you’re the greatest! how awesome it is to hear that you’re working with JR HS!! rock on. and how could they not love you. how could anyone not love you. i mean… serioulsly!! even my unborn child loves you. (but that’s because mommy told him/her to)
    *hugs*


  2. You look so mean!



  3. tiki-timbo,

    rad post. remember that the best way to deal with kids is to constantly swing a knee-sock full of oranges at them.



Leave a Reply

