h1

Goodie Two Bruise

September 26, 2007

On Friday night the girls from Bakersfield (Sarah, Ashley, Kim) drove up to meet myself, Jameson and Tyler for dinner in celebration of my birthday (9/22). We dinned at Casa Corona which is a favorite of ours. After dinner we went to Jamie’s to take funny pictures and just hang out. It was a very fun evening girls. Thank you for making the trip up here!

Saturday morning I watched a couple college football games including my beloved Ohio State Buckeyes! That evening my family and I went to see my older sister’s Roller Derby bout. Now a couple months ago Jenn (older sister) told me that their next home bout would be on my birthday and that Mom, Dad, and Rachel (little sister) would be coming so I should come as well seeing how it would be my birthday. Some people might be put off by this because they have the mentality of “it’s my birthday. What I say goes” but not me. For whatever reason I was fine with it. Jenn’s been running Fresno’s female roller derby for well over a year now and I have yet to come to one of her home bouts (due to playing out of town shows with my band). When I walked into the convention center I was amazed to see around 1,000 people showed up to this! I had no idea it would be this big. I sat down in the front row (thanks Jenn) and enjoyed the show! After about an hour and a half- two hours the bout was over and the Fresno Smog City Roller Grrls defeated the San Joaquin Valley (Stockton) Vixens! I’m so proud of my sister for all of her hard work. She found something that she thought would bring a community of people together and ran with it! She manages the team so she doesn’t skate in much of the bout but I did capture some skating she did in the 3rd period.

Fun side note: Each of the girls have different names they go by while they skate. Jenn’s is “Goodie Two Bruise” (hence the title of this blog). Some others to mention are: “Betty Rocker”, “Lucky Eddie”, “Clarifier” – taken from her name Claire, “Hari Cari”, “Toni 2 Tone”, “Drop Kick Ditty” and many more.

If you would like to know more about the rules of roller derby click here. Or to learn more about joining or supporting Smog City Roller Grrls click here.

Sunday night my family and I celebrated my birthday over dinner. It was very nice and relaxing. All in all it was a good birthday weekend!

3 comments

  1. That footage was during the second period..and for claification, I don’t manage the team, I’m the Founder of the League and I am in charge of the League..and the reason I don’t skate much, is because its scary, thats right, I said it..but next season, I’ll be all about skating..Thanks for posting this Timmy.. I love you soooo much!!!!


  2. I’m not even kidding. Karma Kaze is my mom’s cousin.
    My sister and her boyfriend have been going to some of her games.



  3. thanks timbo…my vocals need some work, but then again it’s just a rough take.

    have fun.



Leave a Reply

